Showing 121–132 of 137 results
Vegan wine is defined, like all other vegan food and drink, as being free from animal products.
For many years consumers with vegan preferences were assuming that conventional wine is suitable for their consumption because it is made from grapes only. As of recent the issue within the wine industry concerning transparency regarding raw material used in production has been surfacing and is becoming more common knowledge. Wine is the only product that doesn’t legally have to declare the ingredients on the label. (Continue reading below products)
The vast majority of conventional winemakers (even some very high end, expensive brands) use animal products in the vinification process of their wines.
Examples of such animal products are Albumen, Casein, Gelatin, Insinglass, blood and bone marrow, milk protein, egg whites, fish oil and others. These substances are inserted into the wine in order to bind with small particles in order to produce a fine clear wine free of residue. These additives also change the taste of the wines, however, the same result can be achieved by natural winemakers through cold fining and natural decanting.
A number of large supermarket chain stores offer vegan wine in which a host of chemical substances such as bentonite and sterile filtration processes replace the use of animal products, however, the end result is far from what many wine lovers hope for.
Natural wine is the perfect solution for vegan wine lovers because it offers animal product free option, which is also free from synthetic elements. The flavours are bright and robust, and reliably reflect the origins of the wine and talent of the natural winemakers.